Wellfield School

  • SearchSearch Site
  • Translate Translate Page
  • Instagram Instagram
  • Facebook Facebook
  • Our Trust

School History

The original school was opened by Councillor Peter Lee JP on Saturday 22nd March 1930. The school was named The A.J Dawson Secondary School after the Director of Education who was well known in the area as he often visited schools. In subsequent years and reflecting changes to educational policy the school has been known as A.J Dawson Grammar School, Wellfield A. J Dawson Grammar School, Wellfield Comprehensive School, Wellfield Community School and now simply Wellfield School.

Wellfield Comprehensive School started as an amalgamation of three schools, Wellfield Grammar School (previously AJ Dawson), Wingate Secondary Modern School and Wheatley Hill Secondary Modern School. Then Yohden Hall School closed in the 1980’s and pupils and staff from this school also joined Wellfield.

Wellfield has been judged as a “good” school by Ofsted in 2014 and 2018.

Our Headteachers

Wingate Secondary School

Mr W A Moyes 1963 1973
Mr D Haigh 1973 1980

A J Dawson Grammar School

Mr J Ingram, BSC 1930 1946
Mr G A Carr, MC, MA 1946 1959
Mr S Steward, MA 1959 1971
Mr T H Dennis, BSC 1972


Wheatley Hill Secondary School

Mr A Harris, MBE 1953 1975
Mr E Ward 1975 1978
Mr G Adams 1978


Wellfield School

Mr T H Dennis. BSC 1980 1985
Mr G B McHugh 1985 1989
Dr J Jordan, BEd, PhD 1990 2000
Mrs J F Elliott, BA, NPQH 2000 2011
Mrs L Rodham, MA, NPQH 2012 2021
Mr G Potts, BA, NPQH (Acting Headteacher) 2021 2022
Ms S Hammond, BA Hons, PGCE 2022 2023

History Links


New College Durham Academies Trust

The focus on Excellence underpins all that we do whether in learning areas, working within the communities we serve or governing and leading our Academies.

Visit Site